A child or youth from 3 through 21 years of age is considered to have a disability under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act (IDEA 2004) if the child or youth meets the eligibility criteria in any of the following areas and needs special education and related services.
Click the category below to access the GaDOE page regarding the eligibility area.

(a) Autism spectrum disorder.
(b) Deafblind.
(c) Deaf/hard of hearing.
(d) Emotional and behavioral disorder.
(e) Intellectual disability (mild, moderate, severe, profound).
(f) Orthopedic impairment.
(g) Other health impairment.
(h) Significant developmental delay.
(i) Specific learning disability.
(j) Speech-language impairment.
(k) Traumatic brain injury.
(l) Visual impairment.