English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

School Information

Poplar Road Elementary School is located on Poplar Road in Sharpsburg, Georgia. It was established in 1998 and today serves a student body of close to 600 students in grade Pre-K through 5.


Poplar Road Elementary School employs forty-five certified staff members.  The remaining staff consists of two administrators (principal and assistant principal), one guidance counselor, and thirty-five classified staff members.  Fifty-five percent of certified staff hold masters degrees or higher.

The faculty and staff are committed to supporting our students as they meet and exceed state curricululm standards. Differentiated Instruction is one of the many strategies our teachers have mastered to ensure student achievement. On the premise that we are all learning so that we all are growing, our staff participates in monthly professional learning activities.  These activities are geared to give our students the best instructional practices possible.





Click on the employee's name to send email.



Lesley Goodwin, Principal

Bonita Flounnory, Assistant Principal

Alicia Porras, Counselor





Caitlin Armstrong

Terri Thigpen



Melissa Bedenbaugh

Cheryl Grindle

Deborah Scruggs

Cathy Steward


First Grade


Melissa Baker

Heather Drury

Pamela Hobbs

Alicia Smith

Second Grade

Robin DeMent

Geri Moore

Eulalee Mortley

Linda Woodruff


Third Grade



Amanda Blackwood

Stephanie Craig

Karen Daniel

 Mignon Perry

Faith Wheeler

Fourth Grade

Brenda Heinz

Allison Korner

Sarah Milligan

Kimberly Snyder


Fifth Grade

Melissa Ladd

 Becky Lanham

Julie Merrell

Lindsay Sprayberry


Special Education Staff

Julie Aldridge

Vicki Holder

Louise Jackson

Janette Malcolm

Michelle Parisi

June Valentine

Support Staff

Yvonne Baxter, Instructional Coach

Anna Butler, EIP

Gail Cox, REACH

Jerome Spence, EIP

Specials' Teachers

Tammy Boswell, Computer Lab

Sunday Griffith, PE

Brenda Naughton, Music

Amanda Taylor, Art

Classified Support Staff

Sheila Adams

Kim Behenna

Wanda Caldwell

Pam Cordle

Carol Fulgham

Harlane Keith

Debbie Lauzon

Karen Mitchell

Jennifer Russell

Paula Scott

Leisa Waddell


Valerie Adams

Eddie Bass

George Lewis

Elaine Martin

Debra Stevens

Cafeteria Staff


Marcia Brown

Joan Phillips

Norma Shoemaker, manager

Ezell Smith

Office Staff
Vicki Corley, Bookkeeper
Donna Gordy, Attendance Clerk
Kathy Tingle, Secretary/Registrar