COWETA COUNTY ATTENDANCE POLICY

Absenteeism
  • All absences will be evaluated on an excused/unexcused basis in accordance with state regulations.  You must be in attendance one-half the instructional day (FOUR CLASSES) to be counted present for the day.
  • Absences will be classified as excused or unexcused.  Excused absences are those with written documentation from a parent/guardian or a health care provider that are due to emergencies such as illness, death in the family, or other extreme circumstances.  Excused absences are religious holidays, service as a page in the General Assembly, school-sponsored activities, and voter registration (Policy JBD).  Unexcused absences are failures to attend school without proper documentation.
  • Upon returning to school, students must bring documentation stating the date and reason for absence with the signature of a parent/guardian, doctor, dentist, or judge. The student and/or parent have the responsibility to present the written excuse within three (3) school days of the student returning to school.  Excuses will be kept on file in the attendance office. Principals will resolve any question in determining whether an absence is excused or unexcused.
  • The school administration may require an excuse from a doctor, dentist, health center, or court after five (5) consecutive absences, or ten (10) excused absences related to health, except for mitigating circumstances such as a death in the family.  According to Coweta juvenile  authorities, truancy charges may be filed after five (5) unexcused absences unless there is documentation from a physician.
  • It is the student's responsibility to contact the teacher concerning arrangements for make up work.  Excused and unexcused absences may result in the loss of full credit for class participation unless students arrange to make up the work within three (3) school days of returning to school.  The student must complete all makeup work and tests within a reasonable amount of time.  For each unexcused absence beyond five (5) days, the school administration must approve any make up work.
  • When extended absenteeism is the result of major illness, injury, or other extenuating circumstances, the student may receive academic credit through use of the homebound services.
  • Repeated absences affect a student’s ability to obtain a Georgia driver’s license and may also impact a student’s ability to participate in extra curricular activities.
  • Telephone calls to arrange for an early dismissal of a student will not be accepted.  No student will be called out of class until the parent arrives to sign them out.
  • Georgia Legislation and Board policy indicate that truancy charges will be filed in court on the sixth (6th) unexcused absence and on each unexcused absences from that point forward.  These charges can result in fines of $25 to $100 per unexcused absence and/or imprisonment of up to 30 days.
Tardiness
  • Tardiness to school will be evaluated as excused or unexcused for both attendance and academic purposes in accordance with the criteria established by Coweta County Board of Education policy.
  • A student is tardy at 8:20 a.m.  Disciplinary actions may be taken toward students who are continuously tardy to school or to a class.
  • When a student is tardy, he or she must present a note from the parent/guardian, doctor, dentist, judge, etc. stating date and reason for the tardy.  The note is subject to verification by school officials.  Please report to the office upon entering the building.
  • Make-up work procedures will be the same as for absenteeism.
  • Any student leaving school early must present a note to the front office as soon as he or she arrives at school.
  • A parent or guardian (or person stated on the emergency consent card) must come into the building and sign for the student’s early dismissal.
  • Missing more than half a period will count as an absence for that class.
  • Make-up work procedure is the same as it is for absenteeism.
  • If a student is being checked out of school early, the parent/guardian must come to the main office and present proper identification.  There are no early checkouts after 3:00pm.
 
Early Dismissals
  • Any student leaving school early must present a note to the front office as soon as he or she arrives at school.
  • A parent or guardian (or person stated on the emergency consent card) must come into the building and sign for the student’s early dismissal.
  • Missing more than half a period will count as an absence for that class.
  • Make-up work procedure is the same as it is for absenteeism.
  • If a student is being checked out of school early, the parent/guardian must come to the main office and present proper identification.  There are no early checkouts after 3:00pm.

 

Connect with Madras Eagles 
twitterfacebookgoogleplusimagesRemind2email blue
handbook

bus 20clip 20art school bus4

resources
CCSS Approved
Instructional Resources

Photo May 23 12 20 17 AM