English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish


LMS Jr. Beta Club

junior beta

The Jr. Beta Club is committed to providing students a positive experience in a supportive manner while recognizing and promoting academic achievement, encouraging service to others, and developing character and leadership skills. Students may join Jr. Beta Club at the beginning of the school year.


• Members must participate in at least 3 service projects per year.

• Grades will be checked at the end of each semester.  Students must maintain a 90 GPA to stay in the club.

• Strikes will be reviewed at the end of each 9 weeks.  If a student earns 3 strikes, he/she will no longer be in the club.

Service Projects:

• Running a 5K to raise money for the community

• Visiting and singing with Nursing Home residents

• Volunteering time to help with an After-School Program and Fall Festival

• Playing with children at a Battered Women’s Shelter

• Helping at Angel’s House.

Sponsors: We meet during school hours.

• Christie Barnes

• Renee Ratcliff

• Ashley Dawson

Jr. Beta Club Convention:


Club members may choose to attend Jr. Beta Club Convention in Macon, Georgia, to compete with other Betas from across the state of Georgia. We have brought back winners who have competed in the following areas:


1st place….Jacob McAlister…English

1st place---Scrapbook---Claire Terwilliger, Caroline White, Kristina Kula

2nd place---Poster---Madison Cosby, Andrea Antrim, Katelyn Smith

2nd place---Madison Cosby---Acrylic and Oil

3rd place…Shelby Olive---Poetry

3rd place---Quiz Bowl---Cameron Bogan, Luke Turner, Conner Bogolin, Spencer Thomas, Jack Heatherman

3rd place---Sadie Buckalew---Digitally Enhanced Photography

4th place---Skylar Hargett---Watercolor

4th place…Daniel England---Science

4th place…Emily Processer---Social Studies

5th place---Monet Terrell---Woodworking

5th place…T-shirt---Elaine Joo, Taylor Smith, Nate Schaab, and Jae Lee

5th place---Multi-Media---Angela Brown, Sawyer Chaffin, Marlayna Cromedy


Digitally Enhanced Photo - 5th place – Taylor Smith (6th)

Essay Division 1 – 5th place – William Yang (6th)

Social Studies Division 1 – 3rd place – Jack Heatherman (6th)

Scrapbook – 2nd place- Going to Nationals! – Claire Terwilliger (7th), Madison Cosby (7th), Kristina Kula (7th)

Quiz Bowl Division 2 – 2nd place – Going to Nationals! – Julia Lenderman (8th), Bo Heatherman(8th), Spencer Thomas (7th), Cameron Bogan (7th)

Tower of Power – 12th place out of 80 groups – Teamwork was impressive to watch and enjoyed by the whole Coliseum – James Spavelko (8th), Adriana Garcia (6th), William Yang (6th), Joon Baek (6th)


Monique Terrell…4th place…Water Color

Monique Terrell…5th place…Sculpture

Poster---4th place…Mary Casale,

Jessica Foster, & Courtney Snyder



Ashli Alexander (5th place…Math)

Leah Taylor (Runner Up/Division I…Essay Writing)

Scrapbook---3rd place This category advances to National Convention in June in Greensboro, North Carolina.

Scrapbook Committee: Nique Brockman, Madeline Krielow, & Leah Taylor