Contact: Dean Jackson Office of Public Information
Phone: 770.254.2736
Fax: 770.254.2807

Press Release - April 28, 2016

Elm Street media specialist Shannon Ewing named Coweta’s 2016 Teacher of the Year

2016 Teacher of the Year Ewing and finalists Anglin and NicollsElm Street Elementary School media specialist Shannon Ewing was announced as the 2016 Coweta County School System Teacher of the Year (TOTY) Thursday night, at the annual TOTY ceremony hosted by the Coweta County Board of Education.

Ewing was chosen as Coweta’s top teacher from among 31 Teachers of the Year and from among three finalists including Audrey Anglin, a special education teacher for Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students at Thomas Crossroads Elementary School, and Cheryl Nicolls, a 2nd grade teacher at Brooks Elementary School.

The annual TOTY ceremony was hosted by the Coweta County school board and the Newnan Pilot Club at the Centre for Performing and Visual Arts.  The program – recognizing some of Coweta County’s most accomplished educators – also featured 2015 Teacher of the Year Martha Milam, who is currently a finalist for Georgia Teacher of the Year.

I am so happy to be in the Coweta County School System family and my Elm Street family,” said Ewing.  “I am deeply proud to represent media specialists throughout Coweta County” as Teacher of the Year, she said.

‘Thank for your service to your students and to our school system,” Board of Education Vice-Chairman Larry Robertson told Ewing, Nicolls and Anglin, and all 31 teachers honored Thursday night. “The Board of Education values the work that you do each day, values your profession, and values the service that you provide to our community’s young people.”

Coweta County’s 2016 Teachers of the Year are:

From elementary schools: Janene Caylor, Kindergarten (Arbor Springs); Amy Mathis, 2nd Grade (Arnco-Sargent); Jessica Pope, Media Specialist (Atkinson); Cheryl Nicolls, 2nd Grade (Brooks); Sherry Lott, 2nd Grade (Canongate); Brendan Shaner, 4thGrade English and Language Arts (Eastside); Shannon Ewing, Media Specialist (Elm Street); Amanda Scogin, 5th Grade (Glanton); Phyllis Cone, Kindergarten, Grade (Jefferson Parkway); Daniel Leatherwood, 3rd Grade (Moreland); Loren Hawkins, 3rd Grade (Newnan Crossing); Monica Lovett, Kindergarten (Northside); Melissa Baker, 1st Grade (Poplar Road); Douglas Duncan, 5th Grade (Ruth Hill); Audrey Anglin, Special Education (Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students), (Thomas Crossroads); Jerri Penson, 1st Grade (Welch); Natasha Beavers, 1st Grade (Western); Lauren Gallagher, 4th Grade (White Oak); Lindsey McFadden, 3rd Grade (Willis Road).

From middle schools: Jennifer Davis, 8th Grade English and Language Arts (Arnall Middle); Melanie Barnett, 6th Grade Science (East Coweta Middle); Tabatha Cyprian, 7th Grade Special Education (Evans Middle); Jeff Bouchard, 6th Grade Math and Science (Lee Middle); Bob Lutz, 8th Grade Science (Madras Middle); Joe Bence, 7th Grade Mathematics (Smokey Road Middle); Bruce Humphrey, Middle Grades Science (Maggie Brown Middle Alternative).

From high schools: Gayle Butler, 8th Grade Science (the Central Educational Center); Matt East, U.S. History and AP Microeconomics (East Coweta High); Shawn Atkinson, Mathematics (Newnan High); Orla Thomas, AP and STEM Chemistry (Northgate High); John Perkerson, Mathematics (Winston Dowdell Academy).

This year’s honorees represent grade levels from Kindergarten through 12th grade, and a range of educational disciplines including elementary grade instruction, math, physical education, sciences, music, special education, history, language arts and media services. The finalists were chosen through an application process judged by last year’s TOTYs.

As Coweta’s Teacher of the Year, Ewing will serve as the county’s nominee for 2018 Georgia Teacher of the Year.

Martha Milam – a chemistry teacher at East Coweta High School and Coweta County’s 2015 Teacher of the Year - is one of 10 finalists for Georgia​'s 2017 ​

Teacher of the Year announced earlier this week.

2016 Teacher of the Year finalists and program

Board of Education Vice-Chairman Larry Robertson, left, congratulates 2016 Teacher of the Year Shannon Ewing, TOTY finalists Audrey Anglin and Cheryl Nicolls, and 2015 Teacher of the Year and state finalist Martha Milam, at the Coweta County School System Teacher of the Year ceremony Thursday.